The National Research Computer Network of Russia (NIKS) was created in 2019 on the assignment of the Ministry of Science and Higher Education of the Russian Federation on the basis of the integration of research and education telecommunication networks RUNNet (Russian UNiversity Network) and RASNet (Russian Academy of Science Network) that have been functioning for 25 years.

NIKS is the country's largest research and education (R&E) network, a backbone network of a national level, with an extended high-speed backbone infrastructure (more than 5,000 km) and international channels that provide integration with foreign national research and education networks (NREN, including GÉANT and NORDUnet) and also with the global Internet. National-level and regional nodes of NIKS are located in large cities of Russia and abroad and provide access to the network infrastructure to more than 300 higher education and science organizations subordinate to the Ministry of Science and Higher Education of the Russian Federation in all federal districts. Over 3 million users (teachers, students, scientists and researchers) take advantage of network bandwidth from 1 to 100 Gbit/s.

The key goal of NIKS is to provide R&E organizations of the country with the opportunities to carry out advanced R&D in priority areas of scientific and technological development, to participate in large Russian and international research projects based on the use of a sustainable ICT infrastructure, integrated into the global infrastructure of world’s NRENs.

NIKS is responsible for the formation and functioning of the unified R&E information space of Russia in order to effectively use the country's advanced R&D infrastructure and innovative activities, including to ensure global accessibility and the possibility of distributed work with big data generated on unique scientific facilities (USF) of the mega-science class, other large USFs, as well as on the basis of the net of R&E centers, world-class research centers and demanded collective use centers.

RUNNet (Russian UNiversity Network) - крупнейшая в России научно-образовательная телекоммуникационная сеть, успешно функционирующая и развивающаяся с 1994 года. RUNNet сегодня - это опорная сеть национального уровня, обладающая протяженной высокоскоростной магистральной инфраструктурой и международными каналами, обеспечивающими интеграцию с зарубежными научно-образовательными сетями (National Research and Education Networks, NREN) и с Интернет. Опорные узлы сети RUNNet расположены в крупных городах России и за рубежом и обеспечивают доступ к инфраструктуре сети RUNNet сотням организаций высшего образования и науки во всех федеральных округах. Свыше 3 миллионов пользователей (преподавателей, студентов, ученых и исследователей) используют преимущества пропускной способности сети, составляющей от 1 до 100 Гбит/с.

Осеновная цель RUNNet - предоставление научным и образовательным организациям страны возможностей для выполнения перспективных научных исследований и разработок, участия в крупных международных и внутрироссийских научных проектах, базирующихся на использовании устойчивой и отвечающей современным требованиям отраслевой информационно-телекоммуникационной сети, интегрированной в глобальную инфраструктуру мировых NREN.

RUNNet предоставляет научным и образовательным организациям высокоскоростной доступ к международным NREN и расположенным в них ресурсам и сервисам, формирует и обеспечивает функционирование единого научно-образовательного информационного пространства сферы образования и науки страны для реализации информационного взаимодействия между организациями при осуществлении ими основной деятельности, оказании образовательных услуг, совместном выполнении научных и научно-технических проектов.

Все новости »